Russia mandates two-week home quarantine for travelers arriving from 11 countries beginning March 4.

Severity: Warning Alert

This alert began 06 Mar 2020 19:13 GMT and is scheduled to expire 31 Mar 2020 23:59 GMT.

  • Event: Restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide (map)
  • Date: March 5
  • Impact: Entry restrictions; health screenings; increased immigration wait times likely

The Federal Service for Surveillance on Consumer Rights Protection and Human Wellbeing (Rospotrebnadzor) has announced March 5 that travelers entering Russia from the US, UK, China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, and Norway will be required to self-quarantine at home for two weeks.

The travel restrictions come amid the ongoing outbreak of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), which originated in China's Wuhan City in Hubei Province. The purpose of the measure is to prevent the spread of the disease. The World Health Organization has declared the virus a global health emergency. As of March 5, Russian authorities have confirmed at least seven cases of COVID-19.

Individuals affected by the restrictions should postpone planned travel. Follow all official immigration and health screening instructions. Allow additional time for immigration and health screenings. Consider delaying travel if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays.

Exercise basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.

Return to SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Intelligence Center >>