Critical Alert

Officials in Switzerland to update coronavirus disease-related list of high-risk countries on Oct. 12; maintains other restrictions. 

Alert Begins 09 Oct 2020 08:47 PM UTC
Alert Expires 19 Oct 2020 11:59 PM UTC


  • Incident: COVID-19 restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide
  • Time Frame: Indefinite
  • Impact: Travel and business disruptions remain


Swiss officials will update the country's coronavirus disease (COVID-19) travel advisory list of high-risk countries and territories on Oct. 12. Travelers arriving from any of the listed countries or territories are required to self-quarantine for 10 days upon arrival. This measure does not apply to transit travelers who have spent fewer than 24 hours in a high-risk country or territory. Travelers will not be allowed to shorten their self-quarantine if they receive a negative COVID-19 test result during the 10-day period. Per the Oct. 12 update, the following countries, and regions have been added to the list of high-risk countries and territories: Austria (Land Burgenland, Land Salzburg), Canada, Georgia, Germany (Land Berlin, and Land Hamburg) Italy (Region Campania, Region Sardinia, Region Veneto),Iran, Jordan, Russia, Slovakia, and Tunisia.

Other nations that maintain the high-risk designation include the following:


  • Austria ( Federal State of Vienna, Land Lower Austria, Land Upper Austria) Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, The Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, British Virgin Islands Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France (Bretagne, Centre-Val de Loire, Corse, Hauts-de-France, Ile de France, Normandie, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Occitanie, Pays de la Loire, and Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, French Guyana, Guadeloupe, French Polynesia, Reunion, Martinique, Mayotte, Saint-Barthelemy, and Saint-Martin) Gibraltar, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iraq, Ireland, Italy (Liguria) Israel, Jamaica, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg Libya, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Morocco, Montenegro, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Oman, Occupied Palestinian Territory, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Sint Maarten, Slovenia, Spain (including the Canary Islands ), Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, UK, and the US (including Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, and Guam)


Per the most recent update, Bolivia, Dominican Republic, Namibia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago have been removed from the list. Officials previously removed entry restrictions for residents of Schengen Area countries unless otherwise indicated.

Domestically, authorities have permitted most activities and businesses to resume, provided social distancing and hygiene requirements are implemented. Authorities no longer recommend work from home, and social distancing measures have been reduced to 1.5 meters (5 feet). Events of over 1,000 participants are permitted, though organizers must obtain a permit from local authorities. Some cantons require individuals wear facemasks in all enclosed public spaces, while they are mandatory at all demonstrations and on public transportation nationwide, including flights.

All restrictions are subject to amendment at short notice in response to government reviews and may receive updates or extensions in the coming days.


Background and Analysis
Switzerland's travel restrictions and preventive measures are similar to actions other governments are taking globally in response to the spread of COVID-19.


Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medicines will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.


Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center