Authorities have banned all public gatherings of more than 15 people and mandated that facemasks must be worn in all enclosed public spaces, including public transportation, nationwide Oct. 19 in response to growing coronavirus disease (COVID-19) activity.

International entry restrictions also remain in effect. In most circumstances, only citizens and residents of EEA countries, as well as of Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and the UK, are permitted to enter the country. Officials are also maintaining a travel advisory list of high-risk locations, which they update in accordance with local COVID-19 activity. Travelers arriving from any of the listed locations must self-quarantine for 10 days upon arrival. This measure does not apply to transit travelers who have spent fewer than 24 hours in a high-risk country or territory. Travelers will not be allowed to shorten their self-quarantine if they receive a negative COVID-19 test result during the 10-day period. The list includes the following countries and regions:

  • Austria ( Federal State of Vienna, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Burgenland, Salzburg) Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, The Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, British Virgin Islands Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France (Bretagne, Centre-Val de Loire, Corse, Hauts-de-France, Ile de France, Normandie, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Occitanie, Pays de la Loire, and Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, French Guyana, Guadeloupe, French Polynesia, Reunion, Martinique, Mayotte, Saint-Barthelemy, and Saint-Martin), Georgia, Germany (Berlin and Hamburg), Gibraltar, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iraq, Ireland, Italy (Campania, Liguria, Sardinia, Venetia) Iran, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg Libya, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Morocco, Montenegro, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including the Canary Islands ), Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, UK, and the US (including Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, and Guam)


Domestically, most activities and businesses are operating, provided social distancing, and hygiene requirements are implemented. Social distancing measures of 1.5 meters (5 feet) between members of different households are in effect.

All restrictions are subject to amendment at short notice in response to government reviews and may receive updates or extensions in the coming days.


Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medicines will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.



Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center