As of Oct. 13, authorities in Lithuania have partially relaxed international entry restrictions, which were introduced to combat the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Arrivals from Bolivia, Bulgaria, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Italy, Jamaica, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Namibia, Norway, the Philippines, South Africa, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turks and Caicos, Venezuela, and the Virgin Islands, are no longer required to self-isolate on arrival.

Authorities previously removed certain international travelers' requirements to produce a negative COVID-19 test prior to departure. This measure applies to citizens and residents of the European Economic Area, Switzerland, the UK, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay if the infection rate in that country exceeds 25 per 100,000 inhabitants in the preceding 14 days. Arrivals from these locations - other than those from Bulgaria, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Italy, and Norway - are still required to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival; this can be reduced to 10 days if a test taken after eight days of self-isolation returns a negative result. Citizens and residents of these countries can enter Lithuania without restriction when their home country's infection rate is below 25 per 100,000 inhabitants.

Most citizens and residents of other countries remain barred from entering Lithuania, with only limited exceptions, including Lithuanian citizens and residents and their immediate families, health workers, transport workers, and for exceptional reasons to be approved by authorities on a case by case basis.

All individuals arriving in Lithuania via public or private transport must register online with the National Public Health Centre (NVSC) at least 24 hours before arrival; this does not apply to individuals transiting via air transport and remaining airside for the duration of the layover.

Most nonessential businesses have reopened, provided they implement strict hygiene and social-distancing requirements; protective face coverings are mandatory on public transport and in all enclosed public spaces. Authorities continue to encourage remote working when possible.

Authorities could reimpose, extend, further ease, or otherwise amend any restrictions with little-to-no notice depending on disease activity over the coming weeks.

Background and Analysis
The measures taken by the Lithuanian government are similar to actions taken by other European governments attempting to limiting the spread of COVID-19 activity. COVID-19 is a viral respiratory disease caused by infection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (previously known as 2019-nCoV). Symptoms occur 1-14 days following exposure (average of 3-7 days). These symptoms include fever, fatigue, cough, difficulty breathing, sometimes worsening to pneumonia and kidney failure - especially in those with underlying medical conditions. On March 11, the WHO declared the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic.

Follow all official instructions. Abide by national health and safety measures. Reconfirm all travel arrangements. Consider delaying traveling if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays. Liaise with trusted contacts for further updates and guidance. Maintain contact with your diplomatic representation. Ensure contingency plans account for further disruptive measures or extensions of current restrictions.

Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. Practice good coughing/sneezing etiquette (i.e., covering coughs and sneezes with a disposable tissue, maintaining distance from others, and washing hands). There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.



Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center