Authorities in Denmark will update international entry restrictions on Oct. 24 as part of ongoing efforts to combat the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Travelers are currently permitted to arrive from EU and Schengen Area countries - unless the point of origin is included on a list of "banned" countries. Travelers from Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay are also permitted to enter the country.

Beginning Oct. 24, the banned country list will include all countries outside of the EU and Schengen Area. Additionally, travelers from the following countries or locations will not be permitted entry to Denmark:

  • Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany (except residents of Schleswig-Holstein), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Spain, the UK, and Vatican City. The banned list also includes the Swedish counties of Blekinge, Dalarna, Gotland, Halland, Jamtland, Jonkoping, Kronoberg, Norrbotten, Orebro, Ostergotland, Skane, Sodermanland, Stockholm, Uppsala, Vastmanland, and Vastra Gotaland.

Travelers from banned countries are only permitted entry for specifically defined purposes, such as work, study, or family reasons. They may be required to self-isolate or present a negative COVID-19 test on arrival. Exact entry requirements depend on the purpose of the visit and country of origin. Travelers from "open" countries are permitted entry to Denmark for any reason and are not subject to self-isolation requirements. Authorities review and update the list of banned countries every week.

Additionally, authorities plan to tighten nationwide COVID-19 restrictions on Oct. 29. Public gatherings will be limited to 10 people and protective face coverings will be mandatory in all indoor public spaces.

Domestic social-distancing mandates remain in force. Cafes, bars, and restaurants must close at 2200 nationwide; patrons must wear facemasks when not seated. Individuals are encouraged to work from home where possible. Alcohol sales stop at 2200.

Authorities could reimpose, extend, further ease, or otherwise amend any restrictions with little-to-no notice depending on disease activity over the coming weeks.

Background and Analysis

The measures taken by the Danish government are similar to actions taken by other governments in the region in recent weeks based on assessments of the evolution of disease activity globally. As countries relax blanket restrictions across Europe, authorities could reintroduce sporadic, highly targeted measures in response to local COVID-19 outbreaks.


Follow all official instructions. Abide by national health and safety measures. Reconfirm all travel arrangements. Consider delaying traveling if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays. Liaise with trusted contacts for further updates and guidance. Maintain contact with your diplomatic representation. Ensure contingency plans account for further disruptive measures or extensions of current restrictions. Reconsider and reconfirm nonemergency health appointments.

Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. Practice good coughing/sneezing etiquette (i.e., covering coughs and sneezes with a disposable tissue, maintaining distance from others, and washing hands). There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.