Critical Alert

Authorities in Connecticut, US, issue update to COVID-19-related traveler quarantine list as of Oct. 28. Other measures remain in place.


As part of ongoing efforts to limit the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), authorities in Connecticut issued an update to the list of states and territories from which travelers are subject to mandatory quarantine upon arrival as of Oct. 28. Per the most recent update, officials added California, Massachusetts, and Pennsylvania to the list.

As of Oct. 28, all individuals entering Connecticut from the following states and territories must self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival:

  • Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming

As officials regularly update the list, it could change weekly to include all states having positive COVID-19 test rates higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or positivity rates of 10 percent or higher over a seven-day average. This quarantine requirement also applies to anyone arriving from a country with a Level 3 US Centers for Disease Control (CDC) health notice. Despite rising cases in New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island, authorities in Connecticut will maintain these thresholds but will not subject travelers from those states to the restrictions.

Connecticut is currently in Phase 3 of the state's economic recovery plan. Under Phase-3 guidelines, businesses such as restaurants and personal care services may operate at 75-percent capacity. Indoor performance venues and outdoor event venues may open to 50-percent capacity with continued social distancing and facemask requirements. Bars and nightclubs must continue to remain closed at this stage. Indoor gatherings occurring at a private residence may have a maximum of 25 people, while gatherings at an event space may increase from 25 people to up to 50-percent capacity with a maximum of 100 people. Outdoor gatherings may increase from 100 to 150 people.

Restaurants, lodging facilities, personal care services, office-based businesses, and childcare centers may continue operating. Essential businesses, such as grocery stores, banks, pharmacies, and fueling stations, have been exempt from mandatory closures. Establishments that can operate must comply with strict mandates to curb the spread of COVID-19, including adherence to social-distancing guidelines, limitations on operating capacity, and enhanced sanitation procedures, among other requirements. Such directives may vary by industry and type of facility.

Individuals must wear protective face coverings when in public and unable to comply with social-distancing guidelines. Fines for violating the mask order will be USD 100, and fines for organizing an event that exceeds gathering limits will be USD 500. Participants in events that exceed size limits could be issued a fine of USD 250.

Business disruptions remain likely. Authorities could reimpose, extend, further ease, or otherwise amend any restrictions with little-to-no notice depending on disease activity over the coming weeks.


Heed the directives of the authorities. Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. Practice good coughing/sneezing etiquette (i.e., covering coughs and sneezes with a disposable tissue, maintaining distance from others, and washing hands).


Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center