Critical Alert

Austria maintains COVID-19-related restrictions as of Oct. 9. Significant business and travel disruptions remain.

Alert Begins 09 Oct 2020 12:21 PM UTC
Alert Expires 23 Oct 2020 11:59 PM UTC


  • Incident: COVID-19 restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide 
  • Date: Indefinite
  • Impact: Business and transport disruptions


Authorities in Austria are maintaining restrictions introduced to combat the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) at their current level as of Oct. 9. Officials tightened restrictions Sept. 21 due to an increase in infection rates, limiting private indoor gatherings to 10 people and outdoor events to 100 people. Gatherings with designated seating are limited to 3,000 people outdoors and 1,500 people indoors. Bars and restaurants must close at 0100 and may only serve seated customers. Protective facemasks remain mandatory in all enclosed public spaces and outdoor spaces where social distancing of 1 meter (3 feet) cannot be maintained.

As of Oct. 9 authorities are maintaining current COVID-19 travel restrictions. Authorities have issued travel warnings for multiple countries, including nations within the EU. Travelers arriving from a country with a travel warning, or anyone who has visited these countries in the preceding 10 days, are required to present a negative COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test taken within 72 hours of arrival or be tested within 48 hours of arrival and self-isolate while waiting for the result. Per the most recent advisory, the Austrian government has designated travel warnings for the following countries:


  • Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China (Hubei Province), Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic (Prague Region), Ecuador, Egypt, France (Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur and Ile-de-France), India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Kosovo, Kuwait, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal (Norte Region and Lisbon), Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Spain (mainland and Balearic Islands), Turkey, Ukraine, and the US

Travelers from all EU countries without travel warnings, as well as the UK, Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, and Uruguay, are permitted to enter the country without restriction. Travel from all other countries remains prohibited indefinitely; exceptions are in place for health workers, freight workers, diplomats, individuals in transit, and urgent or essential reasons decided on a case-by-case basis. Citizens of countries not currently approved for travel but arriving from within the Schengen Area, Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, UK, or the Vatican are required to provide a negative COVID-19 PCR test no older than 72 hours upon arrival.

Authorities could amend any restrictions with little-to-no notice depending on disease activity over the coming weeks.


Background and Analysis
The measures taken by the Austrian government are similar to actions undertaken by other regional governments in recent weeks based on assessments of the evolution of disease activity globally. As countries relax blanket restrictions across Europe, authorities could reintroduce sporadic, highly targeted measures in response to local COVID-19 outbreaks.


Follow all official instructions. Abide by national health and safety measures. Reconfirm all travel arrangements. Consider delaying traveling if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays. Liaise with trusted contacts for further updates and guidance. Maintain contact with your diplomatic representation. Ensure contingency plans account for further disruptive measures or extensions of current restrictions. Reconsider and reconfirm nonemergency health appointments.



Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center