Severity: Critical Alert

Entry/Exit: Indonesia continues to adjust social distancing restrictions in some areas as of June 1 to halt the spread of COVID-19.

This alert affects Indonesia

This alert began 01 Jun 2020 07:57 GMT and is scheduled to expire 29 Jun 2020 23:59 GMT.

  • Incident: COVID-19 restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide (map)
  • Time Frame: Indefinite
  • Impact: Transport and business disruptions; possible quarantine measures

Indonesian authorities continue to implement social distancing measures in several localities to stem the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) as of June 1. Regional governments in areas with significant COVID-19 activity can apply to the central authorities to enact large-scale social distancing measures that are extendable up to four weeks at a time. While measures vary by location, basic restrictions in these areas include suspending schools, reducing the allowed passenger capacity of public transport vehicles, and closing most workplaces, except for some essential sectors like medical and food supplies. Entry and exit restrictions are also in effect in locations implementing social distancing regulations. Exemptions are in place for government officials, medical workers, businesspeople in essential sectors, and people attending family funerals or visiting critically ill relatives, among others. A nationwide public health emergency declaration remains in effect until further notice.

Large-scale social distancing restrictions are in place in the following areas, among others:

  • Jakarta: The local government is enacting restrictions through June 4. Authorities continue to ban gatherings of more than five people and limit operating hours of public transport to 0600-1800. Officials have set up 33 checkpoints and limited ride-hailing services to delivering goods. Residents with essential appointments outside Jakarta have to apply for a permit before leaving, while nonresidents need to obtain official approval before entering.
  • Bekasi, Bogor, and Depok, West Java Province: Officials will implement measures across the region, which includes Bekasi, Bogor, and Depok cities, as well as Bekasi and Bogor regencies, through June 4. Authorities have required workers who can still work on-site to bring their identification card, company letter, and a document stating they have tested negative from COVID-19.
  • Gorontalo Province: Restrictions are in place through June 14. Officials have enacted a 1700-0600 curfew.
  • Greater Surabaya, East Java Province: Measures are in effect through June 8 throughout the affected area, which includes Surabaya city and parts of Gresik and Sidoarjo regencies. Authorities have set up 17 checkpoints in Surabaya city. Ride-hailing services can operate only to deliver goods.
  • Greater Tangerang, Banten Province: Restrictions are in place through June 15. Public transport can operate only 0500-1900. The local government has set up 48 checkpoints throughout the region.
  • Palembang, South Sumatra Province: Authorities are implementing measures through June 2. Officials are allowing offices to operate for five hours daily. Companies must also limit the use of offices to half the capacity.
  • West Java Province: Measures are in effect through June 12 across the province, except for Bekasi, Bogor, and Depok cities, as well as Bekasi and Bogor regencies.
  • West Sumatra Province: Restrictions are in effect across the province, except for Bukittinggi city, through June 7. Officials have banned public gatherings of more than five people. Authorities have also set up 22 checkpoints in the provincial capital, Padang.

Local officials in some localities have lifted large-scale social distancing restrictions due to reduced COVID-19 activity. These areas include Riau Province; Banjarmasin, South Kalimantan Province; Greater Malang, East Java Province; Makassar city, South Sulawesi Province; and Palangkaraya city, Central Kalimantan Province. Authorities in some places with ongoing measures have indicated they plan to end the restrictions in the coming days or weeks.

Travel Restrictions

Authorities continue to ban foreign nationals from entering and transiting the country. Exemptions are in place for permanent residents, diplomats, and transport workers. Arrivals who show COVID-19 symptoms will undergo quarantine at government premises. Authorities will advise all inbound passengers to self-quarantine for two weeks.

Background and Analysis
COVID-19 is a viral respiratory disease caused by infection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (previously known as 2019-nCoV). Symptoms occur 1-14 days following exposure (average of 3-7 days). These symptoms include fever, fatigue, cough, difficulty breathing, sometimes worsening to pneumonia and kidney failure - especially in those with underlying medical conditions. On March 11, the WHO declared the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic.

Follow all official instructions. Abide by national health and safety measures. Reconfirm all travel arrangements. Consider delaying traveling if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays. Liaise with trusted contacts for further updates and guidance. Maintain contact with your diplomatic representation. Ensure contingency plans account for further disruptive measures or extensions of current restrictions. Reconsider and reconfirm nonemergency health appointments. Plan for queues and delays at available shopping centers.

Exercise basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. Practice good coughing/sneezing etiquette (i.e., covering coughs and sneezes with a disposable tissue, maintaining distance from others, and washing hands). There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.

Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center