Severity: Critical Alert

Exit/Entry: Finland continues to ease COVID-19-related international travel restrictions as of July 13; travel and business disruptions remain.

  • Alert Begins: 15 Jul 2020 01:26 PM UTC
  • Alert Expires: 13 Aug 2020 11:59 PM UTC
  • Incident: Restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide (map)
  • Time Frame: Indefinite
  • Impact: Business and travel disruptions

Authorities in Finland continue to ease restrictions introduced to combat the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). As of July 13, border restrictions are lifted with Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malta, the Netherlands, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, and the Vatican; restrictions were previously lifted with Denmark, Estonia, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, and Norway. Also from this date, travel is permitted for work purposes and essential reasons for all other EU states, the UK, and Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China. Travel for all but essential purposes is prohibited from all other countries. Travelers from countries with which restrictions remain in force may be requested to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival.

Previously, authorities permitted most nonessential businesses to reopen, including shops, catering establishments, cultural institutions, and educational facilities, provided they implement strict social distancing and hygiene requirements. Gatherings of over 50 people remain prohibited without prior consent from authorities.

Background and Analysis
The easing of measures in Finland is similar to actions undertaken by other regional governments in recent days in response to lower infection rates of COVID-19. As countries relax blanket restrictions across Europe, authorities could begin to reintroduce sporadic, highly targeted measures in response to local COVID-19 outbreaks. Such measures could apply to neighborhoods or specific facilities, including schools, factories, or accommodation and office blocks. Mandatory social distancing procedures in public places and on public transport, as well as widespread voluntary “self-policing” by residents, will assist in reducing the potential for contagion, negating the necessity for a large-scale, blanket reintroduction of significant restrictions.

COVID-19 is a viral respiratory disease caused by infection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (previously known as 2019-nCoV). Symptoms occur 1-14 days following exposure (average of 3-7 days). These symptoms include fever, fatigue, cough, difficulty breathing, sometimes worsening to pneumonia and kidney failure - especially in those with underlying medical conditions. On March 11, the WHO declared the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic.

Follow all official instructions. Abide by national health and safety measures. Reconfirm all travel plans and business appointments. Carry proper identification and other necessary travel documents to present at security checks. Plan for processing delays if traveling or routing cross-border freight. Consider delaying travel if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays. Liaise with trusted contacts for further updates and guidance. Maintain contact with your diplomatic representation. Ensure contingency plans account for further disruptive measures or extensions of current restrictions.

Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. Practice good coughing/sneezing etiquette (i.e., covering coughs and sneezes with a disposable tissue, maintaining distance from others, and washing hands). There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.

Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center