Severity: Critical Alert

Entry/Exit: European Commission extends measure denying foreigners entry to 30 European nations due to COVID-19 until May 15. Some exceptions allowed.

The locations affected by this alert are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

This alert began 16 Apr 2020 14:09 GMT and is scheduled to expire 15 May 2020 23:59 GMT.

  • Incident: Travel restrictions
  • Location(s): EU nations plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland (map)
  • Time Frame: Through at least May 15
  • Impact: Transport and business disruptions

The European Commission has extended a measure advising thirty European nations to deny entry to non-EU citizens through at least May 15 as part of the bloc's efforts to stem the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Countries included in the measure are referred to as the "EU+ Area" and include all Schengen EU-member states, including Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania, and the four Schengen EU-associated states, namely Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland; it is likely that all countries will adhere to this restriction.

Persons exempted from the closure will include family members of EU nationals, diplomats, foreigners with legal residency permits, cross-border and healthcare workers, and truck drivers transporting freight. The restriction will not prohibit the movement of people within the EU.

Persons affected by the measure should postpone travel to the countries participating in the closure. Follow all official immigration and health screening instructions. Exercise basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent COVID-19, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.

European Union: