Severity: Warning Alert

Exit/Entry: Authorities to allow flights into Malta from 48 countries as of July 15; no self-isolation or COVID-19 testing will be required.

  • Alert Begins: 15 Jul 2020 05:21 PM UTC
  • Alert Expires: 14 Aug 2020 11:59 PM UTC
  • Incident: Easing of travel restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide (map)
  • Time Frame: Indefinite
  • Impact: Easing of restrictions; business and travel disruptions remain

Maltese authorities will allow flights to Malta from 48 countries listed as safe regarding the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic as of July 15. Travelers from these countries will be allowed entry into Malta without COVID-19 testing or self-isolation upon arrival:


  • Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City


Passengers will, however, undergo thermal screening at the airport. Any travelers that are not from and have not spent at least 14 days in one of the countries listed above will need a special permit from the Health Authorities in Malta to enter the country, and might have to self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival if granted access.

Authorities have allowed most businesses in Malta to reopen, albeit with special health and social distancing measures requirements. Schools and other educational institutions remain closed.

Background and Analysis
The easing of restrictions by the government corresponds with similar actions undertaken by other regional governments in response to decreased infection rates of COVID-19. COVID-19 is a viral respiratory disease caused by infection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (previously known as 2019-nCoV). Symptoms occur 1-14 days following exposure (average of 3-7 days). These symptoms include fever, fatigue, cough, difficulty breathing, sometimes worsening to pneumonia and kidney failure - especially in those with underlying medical conditions. On March 11, the WHO declared the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic.

Confirm all travel plans and business appointments. Follow all official directives. Abide by national health and safety measures. Carry proper identification and other necessary travel documents to present at security checks; remain polite and nonconfrontational with border officials. Maintain contact with diplomatic representations. Ensure contingency plans account for further disruptive measures or extensions of current restrictions. Plan for processing delays if traveling or routing freight across Swiss borders. Consider delaying travel if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19.

Emphasize basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medicines will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.

Back to the COVID-19 Risk Intelligence & Resource Center