Central Asian countries continue to enforce travel restrictions, conduct screenings as of March 10 to prevent spread of COVID-19.

Severity: Warning Alert

The locations affected by this alert are:

  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

This alert began 10 Mar 2020 15:00 GMT and is scheduled to expire 27 Apr 2020 23:59 GMT.

  • Incident: Travel restrictions
  • Location(s): Central Asia (map)
  • Time Frame: Indefinite
  • Impact: Entry restrictions, flight disruptions, longer immigration wait times; possible commercial disruptions

Governments in Central Asia continue to implement travel and other restrictions to prevent the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Specific measures vary by country. The following procedures were in effect as of March 10:

  • Kazakhstan: Authorities will suspend entry for travelers from Germany, Spain, and France from 0001 March 12. Entry for travelers from China, Iran, Italy, and South Korea remains indefinitely suspended. Travelers arriving from the Netherlands, Switzerland or the UK must self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival.
  • Kyrgyzstan: Authorities have banned large public events. The entry of foreigners from China, Iran, Italy, Japan, and South Korea remains indefinitely suspended. Travelers arriving from Afghanistan will be placed in quarantine for 14 days.
  • Tajikistan: Entry suspended for citizens of Afghanistan, China, Italy, Iran, and South Korea; travelers arriving from these countries will be quarantined for 14 days. Flights to and from Afghanistan, China, and Iran have been suspended. Authorities have also indefinitely closed the Kulma Pass border crossing with China. Authorities have ordered the temporary closure of all mosques, canceled some sporting events, and canceled public Persian New Year (Nowruz) celebrations scheduled March 20-24.
  • Turkmenistan: As of March 10, all inbound international flights will be redirected to Turkmenabad International Airport for health screenings before completing the journey to Ashgabat. Turkmen Airlines has also reduced flights to India, Kazakhstan, Russia, and Turkey up to April 30. Authorities have closed land borders with Afghanistan, Iran, and Uzbekistan. Ferry travel has been indefinitely suspended. Media reports indicate authorities have banned public gatherings; however, this is unconfirmed.
  • Uzbekistan: Health authorities issued a decree banning public gatherings and large conferences through at least April 25. Flights to and from Afghanistan, China, Italy, Iran, and South Korea have been indefinitely suspended. Travelers arriving from these countries will be quarantined for 14 days.

Authorities could expand their response in the coming weeks, particularly if COVID-19 activity increases in-country. The measures are unlikely to impact most travelers but may lead to immigration delays, especially for passengers from mainland China and other countries with significant numbers of COVID-19 cases.

Follow all official immigration and health screening instructions. Allow additional time for immigration and health screenings at all ports of entry. Consider delaying traveling if experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays.

Exercise basic health precautions, especially frequent handwashing with soap and water, or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are unavailable. There is no evidence that the influenza vaccine, antibiotics, or antiviral medications will prevent this disease, highlighting the importance of diligent basic health precautions.

Return to SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Intelligence Center >>