Angola to prohibit entry by citizens of seven countries with COVID-19 cases starting March 3. Additional restrictions possible.

Severity: Warning Alert

This alert began 02 Mar 2020 22:54 GMT and is scheduled to expire 31 Mar 2020 23:59 GMT.

  • Event: Entry restrictions
  • Location(s): Nationwide (map)
  • Start Time/Date: March 3
  • Impact: Increased security; health screenings; likely increased immigration wait times

On Feb. 28, the Angolan Ministry of Health formalized an edict barring citizens of countries affected by (COVID-19) from entering Angola until further notice as part of the nation's effort to prevent the spread of the disease starting March 3. The specific countries currently targeted by the measure are China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Nigeria, Egypt, and Algeria. The restriction applies only to persons arriving directly from the listed countries and not those traveling via a third country. The Ministry announced the measure publicly on March 2.

The Ministry had previously imposed a mandatory 14-day quarantine on persons who had transited countries where cases of COVID-19 exist or who have been in contact with infected individuals.

Follow all official instructions. Confirm entry requirements, visa validity, and travel reservations before checking out of accommodation, if traveling from countries affected by the COVID-19. Allow additional time for immigration and health screenings at all ports of entry. Consider delaying traveling if experiencing symptoms associated with the COVID-19, as they may prompt increased scrutiny and delays.

Return to SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Intelligence Hub >>